Thinking About NVCC 1/25/2015

I became aware of the phrase, “One thing” while reading a book by G. Campbell Morgan this week. I have rephrased his words to fit here: The Psalmist said, “One thing have I desired of the Lord that will I seek after, that I may dwell in the house of the Lord forever.” Jesus said to the rich young ruler, “One thing you lack,” and later to a burdened woman, “One thing is needful.” Later Paul wrote, “One thing I do, forgetting the things behind, I press towards the mark.”

One thing! Some say, “I should not like to be a person of one idea.” Why not? Doesn’t it depend upon your idea? If your idea is big enough then you don’t have room for more than one. If the one idea is to dwell in the house of the Lord; to render absolute allegiance to God and follow Christ; if the one idea is to be so completely under His domination to fulfill His purpose; if the one idea is to reach the goal, and to be His instrument of blessing; you do not want two ideas.

The trouble with us is that the passion for variety puts God in a list with other things. That is the divided heart. We need to pray, “Unite my heart to serve You, O God.”

One thing,

Kirby

http://www.nvccphx.com

crosscnvcclogo

Leave a comment

Filed under Thinking About NVCC

Leave a Reply

